Congratulations Class of 2018!

 “We’re proud to honor our seniors tonight for their accomplishments in the classroom, on the stage, on the field, and in the larger community,” said Dr. Steven Siciliano, Principal of John Jay High School, in his opening remarks. “Our students have mastered many challenges during their years at John Jay and it’s only fitting we recognize those achievements one final time before the ultimate high school recognition, graduation day, on June 19.”

Dr. Siciliano introduced the Valedictorian, Katherine Ricca, and Salutatorian, Kaley Mamo; highlighting their many accomplishments.

Legacies lived on through recognitions including the Lisa Talia Courage Scholarship, awarded to Halil Gecaj, in honor of a member of the John Jay Booster Club who battled cancer with courage, and the Corporal James Jackowski Marine Memorial Scholarship, awarded to Brendan Carroll, in honor of a 1981 graduate of John Jay who was killed in the bombing of the Marine barracks in Beirut, Lebanon.

Community groups also showed their support for young adults with honors including the Katonah Village Library Scholarship given to Isabella Gibladi for her dedication to the Library and the Lewisboro Land Trust Environmental Stewardship Award given to Reilly Grzywacz for her commitment to open space and sustainability.

 National and state honors included the Excellence in Writing Award, given to Elizabeth Shelbred by the American Association of University Women, and the New York State Education Department’s Scholarships for Academic Excellence awarded to Kailas Amin, Lane Carbaugh, Eliza Dickson, Reilly Grzywacz, Kaley Mamo, Katherine Ricca, and Rebecca Stevens.  

John Jay’s Department Awards for Excellence and administrators’ recognitions closed the evening. Thirty-five seniors received Department Awards. Forty students were Jay Award recipients for playing six or more seasons of a varsity sport.  The Principal’s Award, given by Dr. Siciliano, honored Zachary Beresin for his positive contributions to the school and community.