John Jay earned  twenty-two event medals!

John Jay is the only school in New York State to have achieved the distinction of moving to the state level for thirty-one of the thirty-four years that Science Olympiad has existed in New York State.

The students earned  twenty-two event medals: fourteen for the Purple team and eight for the White, in events in biology, chemistry, computer science, earth science, engineering, and physics.

PURPLE TEAM / Seniors: Serena Chen, Amanda Huang, Angela Huang, James Lucassen, Evelyn Mullaney, Athena Ohnemus, Sabrina Zapson. Juniors: Zachary Schuberg, and Lauren Siegel. Sophomores: Amelia Landis, Lauren Mullaney, Arcadia Ohnemus, Madelyn Panek, Remi Sandell, Rishab Vuthamaraju

WHITE TEAM / Seniors: Justin Chang, Jordan Sandell, Jordan Schwartz, and Molly Siegel. Juniors: Jessica Leff, Jenna Luper, Jack Mango, Jackson Neu, Phoebe Shaw, and Daniel Zitomer. Sophomore: Sophie Guo.

John Jay's Coaches Use Individual Strengths to Mentor Students

COACHES / Overall: Matthew Funnell and Dr. Linda Rachele Burke. Events: Dr. Linda Rachele Burke (Dynamic Planet, Fossils, Geologic Mapping, Water Quality, WriteIt/DoIt), Emilia Camporese (Forensics), Daniel Carleton  (Astronomy, Chemistry Lab, Thermodynamics), Matthew Funnell (Boomilever, Duct Tape Challenge, Fermi Questions, SciTech Quiz Bowl, Wright Stuff), Ann Marie Lipinsky (Experimental Design, Protein Modeling), Jennifer McLean (Codebusters), Caroline Weldon (Anatomy & Physiology, Designer Genes, Disease Detective, Parasitology), and Steven Zoeller (Circuit Lab, Mission Possible).

Science Olympiad began as a grassroots assembly of science teachers, and is now one of the premier science competitions in the nation. Students engage in academic and building events competitions in all STEM disciplines, usually two students to an event.  All events are rigorous, National Science Standards-based challenges. Science Olympiad is dedicated to improving the quality of science education, creating a technologically literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement in science and technology.