National Technical Honor Society

Career and Technical Education Students Celebrated at Nation Technical Honor Society Induction Ceremony

The mood was celebratory Thursday night as friends and loved ones filed into the Walden School gym to celebrate the twenty-third annual National Technical Honor Society induction ceremony. Alyssa DeNoia, who studied Law Enforcement, was one of the 63 students from the Putnam | Northern Westchester BOCES Tech Center who were honored in the student-led event.

“Tonight really celebrates the excellence of our Career and Technical Education program, the faculty and staff, and the outstanding accomplishments of more than 60 honor students representing schools of Putnam and Northern Westchester,” said District Superintendent Dr. James Ryan at the start of the evening. “The accomplishments of this group — the work they’ve done in a wide range of career and technical options — is nothing short of phenomenal.”

In order to become a member of the National Technical Honor Society, students must meet strict criteria. Kevin Valdes, a Mahopac senior who co-hosted the event with Hendrick Hudson’s Eric Andre, explained the qualifications to the audience.

“Only those students who demonstrate superior personal excellence, honesty, leadership, teamwork, and responsibility are invited into the society,” Valdes said. “In order to qualify for nomination, students must maintain a 90% average or better in a technical program and maintain an 85% average or higher in their home schools. Students have to go through an application process which includes writing an essay, getting three recommendations, and community service.”

BOCES Board President Rick Kreps and administrators Dr. Lynn Allen, Todd Currie, John McCarthy, Michael Skerritt, Stephen Lowery, and James Bellucci, also attended the induction, which featured a special candle-lighting ceremony that highlighted skill, scholarship, character, leadership, and service — all of which are important attributes of NTHS members.

After the brand-new inductees received their shawls, Amanda Keenan presented the Jon H. Poteat Scholarship award winners.

“The Jon H. Poteat scholarship, named in honor and memory of the NTHS co-founder, is awarded annually to NTHS members who consistently exemplify the seven characteristic attributes of NTHS: skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership,” Keenan explained. 

Nancy Sinchi, a law enforcement student from Hendrick Hudson, and Christine Baum, a computer graphics student from Fox Lane, received the $1,000 scholarship.

“In the next few months, many of you will go on to begin the college experience while others will go right into the world of work,” Dr. Ryan said. “We’re so pleased and proud that we’ve been able to provide you with an opportunity to pursue your desires, your dreams, and your passions here at PNW BOCES and to provide you with that opportunity is a result of the support of our outstanding faculty. The faculty and staff are totally committed not only to your success today and tomorrow, but in your future. We’re so proud of the results.”

The following students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society

Brewster HS: Kimberly Bates (Fashion Design & Merchandising); Anthony Primavera (Microcomputer Technology); Gavin Jeuschkel (Small Engine/Motorcycle Technology

Carmel HS: Hailey Hernandez (Baking, Pastry & Culinary Arts); Arianna Ramos (Child Development & Education); Sabrina Gill (Digital Film, Video & Audio Production); Esteban Fernandez (Masonry); Destiny Sutter (New Visions Health); Amy Rodriguez (Sports Medicine); Bianca Jimenez (Veterinary Science)

Croton-Harmon HS:Heather Van Asselt (Medical Assistant); Chloe Voytek (Sports Medicine)

Fox Lane HS: Christine Baum (Computer Graphics); Alicia Romero (Veterinary Science)

Haldane HS: Zoe Lyons-Davis (Child Development & Education)

Hendrick Hudson HS: Rebecca Corbett (Carpentry);Ke’ Ajahnai Ridenhour (Baking, Pastry & Culinary Arts); Caitlyn Coronel and Steven King (Computer Graphics); Nancy Sinchi (Law Enforcement); Nasiah Valdes-Cabada (Medical Assistant); Erica Andre (New Visions Health)

Horace Greeley HS: Kyra Slive (Microcomputer Technology)

John Jay HS: Alyssa DeNoia (Law Enforcement)

Lakeland HS:Gina Astudillo (Computer Graphics); Amanda Carbonaro (Cosmetology); Alexander Shattan (Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning); Jaylee Morales (Veterinary Science)

Mahopac HS:Stephanie Felizardo (Child Development & Education); Christopher Volpe (Computer Graphics); Angela Garofalo (Construction Electricity); Claudia Betham (Law Enforcement); Sean Ward (Microcomputer Technology); Gianna Gervasi and Annie Peechatt (New Visions Health); Tess Bartman, Kevin Valdes, and Matthew Vassallo (Sports Medicine); Ariana Poniros (Veterinary Science)

North Salem HS:Brandon Cunitz (Microcomputer Technology); Jessica Reiner (Sports Medicine)

Ossining HS: Maraya Ramos (Fashion Design & Merchandising)

Peekskill HS: Cristian Dominguez Flores (Certified Nurse Aide); Jennifer Mendez (Fashion Design & Merchandising); Jennifer Villa (Law Enforcement)

Putnam Valley HS: Nyarai Jokonya (Animation & Motion Graphics); Jacqueline Vaccaro (Computer Graphics); Jaclyn Pedoty (Digital Film, Video & Audio Production); Kyle Viosky (Urban Forestry/Arboriculture)

Somers HS: Brianna Lux (Medical Assistant); Adelina Ademaj, Kellie Kottmann, Christopher Orzech, and Cassandra Paone (New Visions Health)

Walter Panas HS: Emma Daw, Kaela Golanec and Jenna Guevarez (Child Development & Education); Samantha Mills (Medical Assistant); James Murphy (Microcomputer Technology); Brenna Corrigan (New Visions Health)

Yorktown HS:Samantha Corado (Computer Graphics); Melissa Ferro and Arianna Tolosi (Cosmetology)